Projects are the main building blocks of Graphlytic. Every project has a name and uses one graph connection to connect to a graph. This graph is then used in all queries and visualizations in the context of the project.
The Projects page is available in the Main menu (top right).
This page shows all projects and allows to create new projects or manage existing ones.
A new project can be created using this button. Only users with the Project Settings permission can create and manage projects.
After clicking on the button a modal window is shown. Fill in the name, description (optional), and choose a graph connection for this project:
Every project has its own control panel where you can find:
Button "New visualization" will open a new blank visualization.
Search field - filter down the list of visualizations using a fulltext search in names and descriptions of the visualizations.
Sorting buttons "Name", "Created", "Updated" and "Owner" can be used to order saved visualizations by any of these properties.
Switch "Show hidden" to show or hide the hidden shared visualizations (see List of visualizations for more information).
Menu "Manage" - this menu is visible only for users with the "Project Settings" permission and contains project management features like renaming the project, changing the graph connection, deleting the project, and accessing the Project Settings page.
3.List of visualizations
This list shows all the visualizations created by the logged-in user and the visualizations shared by other users. Move the cursor over the visualization to see additional information, like the owner, created, and updated dates, the ID of the visualization, etc.
A user with the permission to "View all visualizations of all other users" sees all existing visualizations.
To open a visualization click on the image or name of the visualization. There are several options for how the data for visualization can be loaded. See "Loading modes" below for more information.
If the visualization was created by the logged-in user (is not shared with the user by some other user) there are these operations available:
Share: see "Share visualization" below
Update: name and description can be changed
Delete: visualization is removed
If the visualization was not created by the logged-in user:
Hide: shared visualization can be flagged as hidden. You can later see hidden visualizations with the "Show hidden" switch in the Control Panel.
When visualization is being opened, these situations can happen (based on how the visualization is configured):
The saved graph is loaded and visualized exactly as it was saved
The graph is loaded and every node and relationship is checked against the graph database for any changes. If some changes are detected then the refreshed data is used and changed elements are highlighted.
If the visualization was created using a query (cypher or Query Template) then there's also an option to automatically reload the query on visualization loading.
The fact, if the loading should happen automatically, or if the user should choose from one of the options above, can be configured in the visualization in the Settings tab of the Control Panel.
Example of the loading options during visualization loading: